About the Author

“SO TELL US A LITTLE BIT ABOUT YOURSELF AND YOUR ACADEMIC BACKGROUND.”

My name is Darren J. Glenn.  I’m a graduate student in the Library and Information Science program here at Syracuse University.  I graduated Binghamton University last August with a degree in Comparative Literature.  I also studied German language.

 

“WHY DO YOU WANT TO BE A LIBRARIAN?”

There are multiple dimensions to my decision to pursue a career in librarianship.  On a personal level, I’m a total bibliophile and I love that sort of bookish, smart, productive atmosphere of the library (as a destination).  In terms of particular missions as a librarian, I’m a firm believer that knowledge is power and that a career in Librarianship can put me in a position to level access to information and facilitate the path towards equity.  Also, I think it’s a very practical certification to have.

 

“WHERE DO YOU SEE YOURSELF WORKING IN THE FUTURE?”

No idea.  I definitely want experience in a law library, and I am very interested in working at an academic library.  Ideally, I’d love to work in a University Law Library.  I do foresee my mission to expand access to information requiring involvement with public libraries however.  I’m wondering if there is anyway for me to bridge these gaps.

 

“WHAT DO YOU HOPE TO LEARN THROUGHOUT THIS PROGRAM?”

Aside from gaining tremendous amounts of experience as a librarian, and making connections with future library directors and scholars, I’m hoping to gain an intimate understanding of some of the core aspects of librarianship–aspects that are quite vague at the moment.

About darrenjglenn

@D_Glenn101
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About the Author

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

